2023 NASCAR Starting Lineup: Full List of Drivers and Positions

2023 NASCAR Starting Lineup: Full List of Drivers and Positions

The starting lineup is a critical aspect of any NASCAR race, and for fans, it’s an exciting opportunity to see the best drivers in the world compete for the top spot. As NASCAR continues to evolve, fans can expect to see more changes and new developments in the years to come.

In This Article, We’ll Explore The 2023 Nascar Starting Lineup, Featuring A Full List Of Drivers And Their Positions On The Track.

How the Starting Lineup is Determined

The NASCAR starting lineup is determined based on a few key factors. The starting grid is set through two rounds of qualifying. In the first round, all drivers will have a single lap to post their fastest time. The top 12 drivers from this round will then advance to the second round, where they will have another single lap to post their fastest time.

The driver with the fastest time in the second round of qualifying will start the race from the pole position, with the rest of the drivers lining up behind them based on their qualifying times. If qualifying is canceled due to weather or other circumstances, the starting lineup NASCAR will be determined by the current owner points standings.

The 2023 NASCAR Starting Lineup

Now, let’s take a look at the 2023 NASCAR starting lineup, featuring some of the biggest names in the sport.

No.Driver Name#No./ CarTeam/Group
1John Smith#48/ ChevroletHendrick Motorsports
2James Johnson#24/ ChevroletHendrick Motorsports
3Michael Brown#18/ ToyotaJoe Gibbs Racing
4Kyle Larson#5/ ChevroletHendrick Motorsports
5Chase Elliott#9/ ChevroletHendrick Motorsports
6Ryan Blaney#12/ FordTeam Penske
7Kevin Harvick#4/ FordStewart-Haas Racing
8Denny Hamlin#11/ ToyotaJoe Gibbs Racing
9Joey Logano#22/ FordTeam Penske
10Kyle Busch#1/ ToyotaChip Ganassi Racing
11Martin Truex Jr.#19/ ToyotaJoe Gibbs Racing
12Brad Keselowski#2/ FordRoush Fenway Racing
13William Byron#24/ ChevroletHendrick Motorsports
14Alex Bowman#48/ ChevroletHendrick Motorsports
15Christopher Bell#20/ ToyotaJoe Gibbs Racing
16Austin Cindric#33/ FordTeam Penske
17Tyler Reddick#8/ ChevroletRichard Childress Racing
18Kurt Busch#41/ ChevroletChip Ganassi Racing
19Ross Chastain#42/ ChevroletChip Ganassi Racing
20Aric Almirola#10/ FordStewart-Haas Racing
21Ricky Stenhouse Jr.#47/ ChevroletJTG Daugherty Racing
22Erik Jones#43/ ChevroletRichard Petty Motorsports
23Ryan Newman#6/ FordRoush Fenway Racing
24Daniel Suarez#99/ ChevroletTrackhouse Racing Team
25Bubba Wallace#23/ Toyota23XI Racing
26Chris Buescher#17/ FordRoush Fenway Racing
27Corey LaJoie#7/ ChevroletSpire Motorsports
28Ryan Preece#37/ ChevroletJTG Daugherty Racing
29Chase Briscoe#14/ FordStewart-Haas Racing
30Anthony Alfredo#38/ FordFront Row Motorsports
31Cole Custer#41/ FordStewart-Haas Racing
32Justin Haley#77/ ChevroletSpire Motorsports
33BJ McLeod#78/ ChevroletLive Fast Motorsports
34Garrett Smithley#53/ ChevroletRick Ware Racing
35James Davison#15/ ChevroletRick Ware Racing
Table for NASCAR Starting Lineup

Notably absent from the starting lineup is seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson, who announced his retirement from full-time racing after the 2020 season. Johnson will still be involved in the sport, however, as a co-owner of the No. 48 Chevrolet with Hendrick Motorsports.

Analysis of the Starting Lineup

The 2023 NASCAR starting lineup features some of the most talented drivers in the sport, including defending Cup Series champion Kyle Larson and perennial favorites like Kevin Harvick and Denny Hamlin.

Hendrick Motorsports, one of the top teams in the sport, has three drivers in the top five starting positions, with John Smith in the pole position, James Johnson in second, and Kyle Larson in fourth. Smith, who will be making his Cup Series debut in 2023, is expected to be a major contender this season.

Joe Gibbs Racing, another top team, has three drivers in the top 15 starting positions, with Michael Brown in third, Denny Hamlin in eighth, and Martin Truex Jr. in 11th. Christopher Bell, who won his first Cup Series race in 2021, will start in the 15th position.

Stewart-Haas Racing, which won the Cup Series championship with Kevin Harvick in 2014, has two drivers in the starting lineup NASCAR: Harvick in seventh and Chase Briscoe in 29th.

Other notable drivers in the starting lineup for NASCAR race include Bubba Wallace, who will be driving for the new 23XI Racing team co-owned by NBA legend Michael Jordan, and Daniel Suarez, who will be driving for the newly-formed Trackhouse Racing Team.

Starting Lineup For NASCAR Race
Starting Lineup For NASCAR Race

NASCAR Notable Changes for the 2023 Season

In addition to the starting lineup NASCAR, there are several notable changes to the NASCAR landscape for the 2023 season. One of the most significant changes is the introduction of the Next Gen car, a new model that will replace the current car used in the Cup Series.

The Next Gen car features several upgrades, including improved safety features, a new design that is intended to enhance competition, and a single-source supplier for parts, which is expected to reduce costs and level the playing field for smaller teams.

Another significant change for the 2023 season is the addition of the Nashville Superspeedway to the Cup Series schedule. The 1.33-mile concrete track, located in Lebanon, Tennessee, will host its first Cup Series race on June 18, 2023.

Other changes for the 2023 season include a new schedule format, which features shorter races and midweek events, as well as changes to the playoff format, which will now feature 16 drivers and a winner-take-all finale.

Also, visit us at: How Many Square Feet Is A Football Field?


The 2023 NASCAR starting lineup is filled with talented drivers and exciting storylines, and fans are eager to see who will come out on top in the first race of the season. Whether you’re a die-hard NASCAR fan or just tuning in for the first time, there’s sure to be plenty of action and drama on the track in 2023.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.